Preface — I have had a bit of champagne and could be a bit tipsy. Just a little. Maybe.

I don’t have a lot of friends. I don’t mean that in a, “Oh, poor me,” way. I just don’t. I never really have. And lately, I’ve been giving a lot of thought to why.

I’m in no way an introvert — I don’t hide behind trees at conferences, nor do I hyperventilate when approached by a stranger. If you take me to a party (which means I wanted to go in the first place, because if I don’t want to go, I just stay home, which is probably the root of the problem), I will make friends with anyone standing near me. I can get along with the richie bitch drinking Grey Goose, and I can end up buddies with Bubba drinking a Bud. I’m not antisocial. Unless I want to be. In which case, I just stay home, as mentioned above.

The thing is, unless I have a real connection with someone, I just don’t go out of my way to spend time with them. I think I’m sounding a bit snobby, but I don’t think this is really a bad thing. I think enough of myself, and I enjoy my own company enough, that I’d rather hang out on my own, reading a good book, watching a movie, or cuddling with my dogs than force conversation when I don’t particularly want to.

At this point in my life, particularly because I work from home, I’m really unsure as to how I should go about meeting people who share my interests. I know I have the potential to make great friends, because I have several, and to them I am FIERCLY loyal. And, since starting as a blogger, I’ve met a number of people I am SURE I would be super close to if we only lived in the same city/state/country. I have a lot in common with a lot of people, and there are people (besides my husband and my parents) who think I’m just as funny as I like to think I am. But how do I find them and make them be my friend?

Again, I’m really not putting this out there to make anyone feel sorry for me. Don’t do it. I’m pretty fabulous in a lot of ways, and I have no pity for myself, so neither should you. I’m just looking for some advice. In your 20s or 30s, if you don’t have kids and don’t go to an office, and you’re all married and settled, where do you find people who want to be your friend?

