You will NOT believe what I spent my morning doing. Really, try guessing the last place you’d imagine me going willingly. Is it a middle school gym full of sweaty science nerds? Because, if so, DING DING DING! We have a winner!

Yes, it’s true. I volunteered to judge a middle school science fair. The only excuse I can give is that the idea was broached to me during a really cool wine tasting, and I was a few drinks in, and the idea of the poor science fair being short, like, 10 judges made me feel, like, bad and stuff. Gah. Freakin’ conscience.

It wasn’t so bad, other than apparently science fair judges are supposed to be familiar with Scientific Method. I’m familiar with it in the sense that I have heard of it and I am aware that it exists. Beyond that … isn’t there, like, a hypothesis or something? I dunno. And I sure as hell wasn’t going to ask any of the scientists who were there, because I felt stupid enough.

Honestly, it was interesting, because not only had I never judged a science fair, but I’d never actually seen one, or known one existed in real life. Since the kids doing science fair projects tend to be some of the good kids, I didn’t have to throw anybody down or make them run laps (I used to coach volleyball in that very gym, so I was kind of tempted, just for shits and giggles).

And what else has been going on, you ask? Jared had a birthday, the Gators are going to the National Championship, Rudi has a new prong collar (because OH MY GOD DOG WHY CAN’T YOU JUST WALK LIKE A REAL DOG), I was the big loser in a cardio class at the gym (and not in the weight-loss way), and … a million other things that I will totally do a better job of telling you about, starting … tomorrow.

