I was about to put together a whole post on how much I’ve enjoyed trying some new recipes and pointing you toward some of the sites that have been inspiring me, but that’s going to have to wait because right now, I’m trying to figure out how I went grocery shopping yesterday and have nothing to eat for lunch today. No, really. I can’t figure out ANYTHING to eat. I’m likely to sit here and starve to death.

I suppose it might have something to do with the fact that block cheese was on sale, so between that and the buy-one-get-one-free crackers, I felt like I had a full cart and plenty to eat, but I’m pretty sure I can’t (well, shouldn’t anyway) subsist on sharp cheddar and Ritz alone. (I also got bananas and avocado and Greek yogurt, for those concerned about whether or not I actually have nothing but cheese in the house.)

I think it’s also because we had a cookout last weekend where guests brought sides, leaving us with a fridge full of leftovers and jars of things we don’t ever actually buy or eat ourselves but I can’t bring myself to throw away. This means that I look in the fridge before shopping and think, hmmm, obviously we have plenty of food. I guess I just need chocolate milk and eggs today!

Okay, fine, it might just be that I’m lazy and don’t actually feel like making anything, but still, it’s infuriating to know that I had an entire STORE full of FOOD at my disposal yesterday, and didn’t manage to purchase anything that sounds appetizing right now. Please tell me I’m not the only one to have done this. And then, please bring me a panini.

